Apples

The Pioneer Woman has a recipe for apple fritters that is really, really awesome. When everyone I know ended up with lots of apples, somewhere I got it into my head that this recipe was The One. I thought about it with limerance. Thoughts I couldn’t stop of these apple fritters danced into my head. I couldn’t stop fantasizing about making them, how they would smell, how great I would look in my apron.

I made some. They were fabulous. I decided I needed to make a vegan version.

It’s almost the same!

# 2 cups All-purpose Flour
# ½ cup brown sugar
# 3 Tablespoons Sugar
# 2-¼ teaspoons Baking Powder
# 1-¼ teaspoon Salt
# 2 teaspoons Ground Cinnamon
# 2 tablespoons flax seed
# 1 1/2 cups Almond (or other) Milk
# 2 teaspoons Vanilla Extract
# 2 Tablespoons Melted Earth Balance
# 2 whole (Granny Smith) apples

Pour a bunch of oil into a pot. Turn it on a low temperature and let it heat up while you do the rest. Mix together everything except the apples. Then add the apples. Drop spoonfulls of the batter into the hot oil (turn up the temperature now). You might want to test the oil to make sure it is hot enough. They will need to be turned over while cooking.

Leave a Reply

