Birthdays

>If I used multiple word titles, this would be called “Why I Fail At Friendships and Other People Are Awesome.”

I fail at long distance friendships.

I’m bad about sending e-mails and letters. I fail at talking on the phone. I’m even pretty mediocre about IM.

But man, do long distance friends make birthdays awesome. Facebook exploded with birthday wishes, genuine comments and not just idle “Happy birthday”s forced with minimum emotion. I got e-mails and tweets and IMs from people I rarely talk with.

By the end of the day, I was able to survey the people I’ve filled into my life, the wonderful people who have taken up places in the world where, no matter how long since they last talked, they reach out and say “Happy birthday.”

Leave a Reply

