Oversharing

I think it was 2006 when I met this guy named Ferrett. Ferrett writes about himself on the internet with what appears to be a total lack of concern of judgement or repercussions. He once even wrote about why he writes this way.

I came of age on the internet during the height of the livejournal years. As culture loves to hate culture, there was a lot of livejournal bashing for the people who posted there, in detail, about their personal lives. Like I was on vigil, I poured over everything people I knew wrote–no matter how sad, pointless, heartbreaking, repetitive, sophomoric, or worrying I thought it was.

I don’t really know why.

I was not an internet sharer. I had some vague designs of one day goining one of those DoD branches that requires a security clearance. I thought I might run for office. Beyond that, I feared the judgement of my peers. The same peers who posted so candidly about themselves.

I tried anonymous sharing, getting into the habit of obfuscating details, using fake names for myself and others. Over time it all somehow blended together into real life around the same time I gave up on hopes of being Dana Scully or a senator. But, habits stuck with me. Fake names, initials, too many pronouns.

Now I overshare. Sometime I decided there was value in talking about myself in too much detail on the internet. I’m not sure what it is, but I am sure it exists.

Leave a Reply

