surplus

Giving away money has proved to be harder than I hoped.

I decided that this year I wanted to encourage other people to give. I decided I would offer matching donations of up to $100 per person per organization. This means any individual could donate to any number of organizations, and I would match. It also means that any number of individuals could donate to the same organization, and I would match that as well.

I told the internets and waited for the responses to come pouring in. A few people listed organizations that I assume they were interested in. When I asked them about amounts and/or proof of donation, there was no response. One of my friends went wild and cost me a few hundred with his dedication to helping victims of abuse and rape.

I pushed again, hoping to get more attention. I was louder this time. My mom told me she donated to Wikipedia. Having your mom take you up on this is like having your mom bringing you flowers at your school play, or telling you you’re the most beautiful person in the room. Of course they think you’re great, that’s what they’re supposed to do.

I put out a third call and some people start responding. I smile. Awesome.

If you’d like to partake in their year’s MollyGive program, drop me a line. I am happy to help.

Leave a Reply

