cake, 2

I found a cake recipe I really like and added it to my repertoire of basic cake recipes. It’s fluffy and moist, which is a nice combination for a cake. I made a modified vegan version. I’ve cooked it twice, once with chocolate and once without. I don’t eat soy, so I don’t cook with it. You could use soy yogurt or earth balance. I make no promises on how it will turn out.

2 tbsp ground flax meal
3/4 cup water
1/2 cup soy-free earth balance
1 1/3 cup sugar
1/3 cup cocoa (optional)
1 teaspoon vanilla
2/3 cup coconut (or almond) yogurt.
2 cups flour
2 teaspoons baking soda
1 teaspoon salt
1 cup boiling water

0) Turn oven on to 350.
1) Take the 3/4 cup water and mix it with ground flax. The ground part is important. Put these in a pot and boil it. Eventually, it will gain the consistency of snot. Or eggs. They’re basically the same. I do this first so it has time to cool.
2) Mix earth balance and sugar. Once it’s creamed together, add cocoa powder if that’s how you’re doing it.
3) Add yogurt and the flax meal goo. Sorry for calling it goo. I love the flax jelly you can make. It’s wonderful and adds moisture and cohesion, but it looks pretty gross.
4) Add the dry ingredients. If I feel fancy, I mix the dry ingredients separately. If I don’t, I just dump them all in at the same time. If I’m adding, say, sprinkles or chocolate chips or fruit, I mix them up with the dry ingredients. The original recipe says to sift it, but I don’t have a sifter.
5) After everything is mixed, add a cup hot/boiling water. Be careful. Stirring this can be tricky.
6) Bake at 350 degrees for 20-30 minutes.

Leave a Reply

